The gateway is full of ghosts, also full is the courtyard

Before embarking on our epic, cross country move, the girlfriend and I did a divination to see if we had the gods’ backing, both in regards to locale and timing. That was what came up as the description of our lives in Baltimore. It is apt.

Almost every post I’ve made here has in some way referenced the constant struggle my spiritual life has become, it has been going on for that long. I would come here with some insight, convinced I knew the root of the problem, convinced I could move forward, or at least fake it until I make it. And things really would be better, for a while at least. And then it would all fall apart again, leaving me often more depressed than I was before. I just could not seem to climb over that wall or outrun the negative thought loop in my head.

I was not able to try working off the success I had with my Hermaversary celebration (which was my last post here until recently), because just shortly after that the circus freak show that was my cross country move swung into high gear. I was unable to spend much time dealing with religious matters because all my energy was going to dealing with epic amounts of stress and keeping my head from exploding. When I arrived here and much of that stress (though by no means all of it) was gone, its cause if not its after effect, I took a much needed and well earned break. I lost myself in some of my favorite relaxing activities and swore off anything that would cause me more stress – which, sadly perhaps, did include my spiritual life. It wasn’t how I wanted to come down here but I was at my absolute wits end and I needed it.

But just because I wasn’t actively pursuing it, doesn’t mean it wasn’t in the back of my mind; turning over and over, insights bubbling up to the top, as these things often do, just waiting until I’m ready to deal with it again. That moment finally came a short time ago, and finally here we are again. Yet another post on how I know what is wrong.

Yes, I do think I have some new insight. But I don’t think any of the old ones I came up with were wrong. They were all a small part of the puzzle, but not the whole picture that I initially took them for. And those insights I did have I tended to underestimate and downplay their effect on me, in my desperation to have it all be over and over now, I tried to convince myself the problems were not as bad as they really were. Of course my mind knew better, and sooner or later it reminded me of that.

The change in my relationship dynamic with Hermes is a big part of it. Probably I should have seen this coming, but I didn’t. Thought it would be okay because it was Him and I know Him and I trust Him, but it isn’t. No matter how much I just want to be okay with it, it just hasn’t happened. Yes, a lot of my expectations were heavily influenced by the experiences of others and that did me no favors, but that certainly isn’t all of it. It changed the way I see Him in relation to myself, it changed my instinctual reaction to Him. It made me uncomfortable; and when I’m uncomfortable, my walls go up.

My leaving the company of two groups was harder on me that I at first wanted to admit. I had spent quite a while with both of them, both had in some way shaped my spiritual life when it was in new and vulnerable state, and not all of that influence was ultimately healthy or beneficial. It is amazing how your behavior can be influenced by group think, even when you might not personally agree with something you might still do it anyway, or just be reluctant to go against it, even if every sign is pointing you in that direction, because its just not what’s done. It wasn’t just the stress from interpersonal drama, the way I would be told I’m one of the group while at the same time being singled out by them, being needlessly ridiculed over practices and beliefs and attempts (on both sides) at re-education when my life didn’t perfectly line up with your standards. I have a lot of lessons I need to unlearn, a lot of group imposed taboos to shatter, in order to move on in the direction I need to go in.

I have acknowledged that I feel a good deal of bitterness toward my former spiritual homes, one for leaving me so woefully unprepared for the things that happened to me, and the other for not being the support base it purported itself to be. Recognizing this anger will,  I think, be helpful in moving forward. But it will likely take a lot of time and work to find all those unnecessary and toxic beliefs running around in my head, and deeply ingrained thought patterns don’t just vanish overnight.

But that, I now realize, was not all of it. And even acknowledging the true severity of those issues wouldn’t have helped me earlier. Because the problem, the bigger picture, was my life itself. Everything in my life was wrong.

I remember something that Hermes told me right before I moved to Baltimore at His request, when I was still talking things through with my future room mates but before anything was finalized and so my mind was still thinking of other potential places to go. Hermes told me I needed to go to Baltimore first because there was something I needed to do there; after it was done I would leave, go further out and settle elsewhere. I always remembered that even if  didn’t pay close attention to it. And it didn’t take too long to figure out what I was doing in Baltimore, I was there to collect my partner, to help to drag her out of her life and take her on the road with me. My moving there was a catalyst for both of us, almost immediately our lives began changing in ways we never would have predicted and in ways that were unsettlingly similar; we both began more and more disconnected from things and people we had thought were important, and pushed us closer together as a result. That experience bonded us together even before we fell in love, which is of course exactly what They wanted. Once I saw the writing on the wall, I knew my purpose in that city had been fulfilled and it was time to leave.

And it took us two years to actually leave.

For her it’s completely understandable, it must be hard to walk away from a life you’ve been living for years, to fully convince yourself there is nothing there worth salvaging. But for myself? I’m honestly not sure now. I was miserable there more often than not, most of the connections I made (with few exceptions, and they know who they are because they are the people I’m still speaking to) brought me more stress than benefit. And yet I kept trying anyway. I put myself through the wringer trying, I wore myself out, I made myself sick, trying to make things work that I knew, somewhere in my mind, were never going to.

Perhaps because it was my first time out in the world after I escaped the abuse and retreated from society to allow my wounds time to heal; perhaps because it was my first chance at having the real life everyone always told me I never would. Perhaps because He had sent me there and I didn’t want to let Him down by blowing it all to hell, I wanted to make it work for His sake as well as mine.

It was not entirely a wasted effort, I learned a lot about what my limits really were, how to work within them and where I need to call it quits; those were mistakes I needed to make so that I don’t make them a second time. But once Renee and I were together, once we were bonded in that way that made us partners on this divine roller coaster ride, my purpose there was done and Baltimore became, officially, a dead end for the both of us. And yet there we were, trying to make a life in what was only supposed to be a brief pit stop.

I’ve come to see my time in Baltimore now as one long, long transitional period; things didn’t really improve while I was there, it all just changed, one piece at a time, into something completely different until, aside from the fact that Hermes and I were still standing there, all else was unrecognizable. It’s a lot for a person to go through, even if I was given someone to go through it all with. Everytime I thought I had a handle on where I was going, another piece was taken away and replaced with something different and there I was, back at square one. And when all that change was said and done (for the time being anyway, knock of wood), I had no hope of moving forward on my new path because I was living in a spiritually dead place, surrounded by the ghosts of what once was; any success I thought I found there would, of course, be only a ghost itself, vanished by dawn’s light leaving me alone in my confusion again.

Its hard for me to believe now that I genuinely didn’t see it. Right after we acknowledged it was time to go and then didn’t, everything immediately fell apart, and this spiritual crisis of mine finally reared its ugly head. The timing fits so perfectly, I feel like an idiot for missing it. But I guess it is easier to see clearly from the outside than you can in the middle of the fray.

But I am in a new place now, where my gods wanted me to be for the time being. I’ve been taken about as far away from everything I once was while still remaining in the same country, what better place to make a fresh start of everything.

I’m not going to say that all will be well shortly, or even that I’ve made any significant progress. I’m tired of saying that and turning out to be wrong, it’s getting embarrassing and I’m sure you’re all sick of hearing about it. It’s unrealistic to expect that everything will just go poof overnight, even if I was in peak condition and I’m really not, I’m really burned out from the last several months and the last four years. These issues I’ve raised here can not be ignored (I tried, not going to happen) and exorcising them will not be easy work.

Starting my relationship with Him was easy enough, I wasn’t even looking for it it was just there. Some part of my mind thinks it should be that easy again; but its different now and it won’t work like that again. I look back on what I used to have and wish I could go back there again, forget all this that I was given because life was easier without it; that also is not going to happen, and I really think that, if presented with that opportunity, it is not what I would really want. And either way, even if the vows could be dissolved it’s not like it will erase this time it will still be different and I would always wonder what I might have had, likely to my detriment. I’ve been given a clean slate, but the writing that used to be there is still just barely visible, I can’t pretend I don’t see it or that I don’t remember what was there, or that it won’t continue to influence my behavior for some time to come.

I have now, I think anyway, done all that I needed to do to get myself in the right position. I’ve moved out of that city of ghosts, I’ve cut ties with all the dead ends in my life so none of that can influence me anymore than it already has. I’ve fixed it so that the only real voices I will hear will be my partner’s and my god’s. I continue to wish longingly that there was some other tradition I could join up, continue to think it might have been easier to have a template to work off of instead of feeling my way around in the dark (and I know some people out there would really envy me that total freedom I’ve been given, and maybe one day I’ll be able to look back and see this as a good thing, but I don’t envy me much right now and there is no use pretending I feel differently), but that is also not going to happen and it’s another mistake I don’t intend to make again. External circumstances are as right as they are likely to ever be; the rest is up to me, and time.

Will it all work out? I don’t know, I’d like to think so, but the obstacles are such that it feels foolish to make any promises. It will take time though, and work, real work, and that I need to keep reminding myself. I’m not just simply getting back on the horse like I’ve been trying to tell myself; that horse is long gone, there is a bull there in its place, and I’ve all but forgotten how to ride.

5 Responses to “The gateway is full of ghosts, also full is the courtyard”

  1. painandlight Says:

    I love that we’ve both started to have insights like this come to us at the same time, and I’m hopeful that this is the beginning of both of us really and truly pulling out of the holes we’ve been stuck in for so long. It’s been such a hard trek through the feelings of loss, hopelessness and inadequacy….here’s to better times ahead for you, me and our gods. I love you!

  2. I’m glad that you guys got out of such a bad situation, and I hope relatively unscathed?

    All I can offer is that while you may be wandering around in the dark, there is always some light, somewhere. And once you get on a roll with something, go with it as much as you can, because it makes things easier. Three weeks ago I had no gods and no path. I can’t say the same now, because I’m connecting and re-connect with Them, new and old, and I’ve been able to set up a path and a daily practice that I didn’t think I could have before. I’m also able to re-create dozens of new connections because they make sense to me, and that I shouldn’t have to worry about other people’s opinions about it.

    Good luck, Gavin. 🙂

  3. I know that when Beth and I arrived here, on the heels of some trying times back in Philly, we took a huge break from everything. Well, except job hunting, which, even if we hadn’t had the stress before the move and the stress of the move, would have had us taking a break from everything. I was still in the process of getting back to good with Poseidon — the worst was behind me already, but the rebuilding was still underway. It’s never gone back to how easy it used to be, for me. There will be moments when it’s easy and friendly, but they’re rare and are done by the time I’ve realized that they’ve happened.

    Nothing is every going to go poof and then be all better. This place, as wonderful as it is, doesn’t fix things for us. Hopefully it gets us to be in a place where mere survival no longer takes up everything we have to give. When we first got out here, I know Beth was counting on the place to be the fix. It certainly helps — it’s easier when removed from people with expectation of who you are, easier to be in a place so vibrant, so pretty, easier in this sort of seclusion that we have here, but the place doesn’t do the work. We have to.

    Getting out of Baltimore, finally, when it was so obvious that you needed to, is awesome, and I’m so happy that you managed to do it. Most people don’t make cross country moves. Hell, most people don’t move all that far from where they grew up. That thought staggers me, makes me sick.

    I so wish I had words to make this easy for you. I don’t. But, you need and deserve to be proud of yourself for having gotten this far. It’s not small thing. Most people would have given up by now. Doesn’t mean that further work isn’t necessary, and it sort of sucks that the reward for sticking it out, for following your gods is to get more *work* but that’s sort of what we’ve all signed up for, right?

  4. What Jo said, basically. My first year here sucked, despite this being such a beautiful and vibrantly alive place, despite having left an incredibly stressful situation behind me in Philly, because the issues that had helped create that situation (and others) were still mine, and they followed me here as issues are wont to do. I had wanted the new place energy to magically bring a fresh start and needed change into my life all on its own, but while a new place can contribute to such magic it never does so all on its own. In fact, I learned the hard way that I had to do most of the work, although at least I could do it in much prettier surroundings.

    Because whar you’re going through now is strikingly similar to what I went through when we first got here, I do feel for you. Unfortunately, the only way out is through, and that still holds true no matter where we are on the planet. Believe me, I wish this process was easier than it is.

  5. Like I mentioned in correspondence with you, it took me the better part of three years after my own cross-country move to actually get out of the funk that brought me there. I would say what you’re actually experiencing is normal (not that I’m calling you normal, or anything, so don’t get offended LOL), especially considering the circumstances of why you moved. It is, in my experience, necessary to get out of a sucky situation and change the externals before you can work on the internal stuff – Maslow’s pyramid comes to mind here – but that in and of itself won’t change what’s going on inside, it will just provide a way for those things to be worked on in a safe, sane environment.

    So, yeah, what you’re going through is similar to my own experience moving cross-country, and I wish you much luck with sorting it all out. You’ve got my ear (well, screen) if you want it.

    -Noni (formerly Siggy)

Leave a Reply

